fbpx
Menu

Meet Candi

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I am a retired RN, widow with 2 children and 3 grandkids. After my husband passed away, two neighbors got me interested in ebikes and hiking and I am hooked! Mike and I had hiked back in the 1990’s, but nothing compared to what I have done recently! With the Olympic National park in our backyard (so to speak) there is so much to explore.?

What’s your favorite way to get your miles? 

I enjoy walking my dog everyday. As a CDE (Certified Diabetes Educator), I told my patients “there is no such thing as bad weather, only bad clothing” so I try to maintain that concept in retirement! 

In the spring, summer and fall, the bike is my favorite way to get in the longer miles.

You joined us later in the year last year. Can you share how that affected your experience?

Tracy had mentioned this group to me while at the gym and it seemed like a way to keep me motivated. Being my first winter without Mike and with Covid, it just felt right to join in. I realized that I really wanted to add up the miles and it has been fun!

What’s your favorite outdoor memory?

WOW! I guess my favorite is just being outside and enjoying the quiet of the forest and the incredible views! Taking the time to enjoy the adventure and friends that are with me and not rush. Like the old saying, “take time to smell the roses/flowers”.

Do you have a “disaster” story? 

We did an extremely difficult hike a few weeks ago and there was a big tree across the trail that we had to climb over. It wasn’t hard going up but coming back it seemed twice as large and very difficult to get over. I ended up sitting on it and sliding down away from the trail. To stop the slide, I rolled off the log and landed in all the branches! I was laughing so hard I couldn’t get my pole or my legs out from the branches! Friends to the rescue but not before taking a picture! ?

What have you always wanted to try?

I have always wanted to try snowshoeing. We did downhill and cross country skiing when our kids were growing up, but never snowshoeing.

You are really doing well with your miles this year. Do you have any tips for success to share?

Some days it is difficult, but I know I need to keep moving to maintain my health. It is amazing how one foot in front of the other can quickly add up! If I don’t want to go outside, then I will ride the exercise bike. Not nearly as enjoyable for me or the dog!

What are you looking forward to?

Spring so the weather is nicer, or at least a bit warmer. In Washington, we still need to contend with the rain and mud but that is part of living in this beautiful area.

Are you enjoying the 365 Mile Challenge?

Yes! I love seeing all the encouraging posts and beautiful pictures from all over!

You are a big source of inspiration for the group. What inspires you?

My late husband, Mike. He suffered from Parkinson’s and was not able to enjoy our retirement years like we had planned. Every hike, ride and adventure is for him.

Is there anything that you want us to know about you?

We all have choices in life. I had a spinal fusion 4 years ago and am now dealing with heart disease. I choose to be a survivor and not a victim.  

Anything that you’d like to add? 

My brother lives near Roanoke, VA and I hope to hike part of the Appalachian Trail when we are able to travel again!

Thank You, Candi!!

 

 

Author

Join our mailing list!

Connect with us

All rights reserved - 365 Mile Challenge is a registered trademark of 365 Mile Challenge, LLC.